Enable Internal/External Microphone Inspiron 1420 on Ubuntu 8.04

I wanted to use VOIP, but the mic didn’t work. How did I enable it?

First, I was able to use the internal mic, thanks to this post.
OK, so now how do I use my own mic.
In the volume control,

1. Click Edit -> Preferences

2. Check the Input Source

3. Change the Digital Input Source to Analog Inputs

4. Select Front Mic as Input Source.

Tested on the Sound Recorder, fixed.

Posted on July 28, 2008, in Dell Inspiron 1420, Linux and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. thanks, that helped!🙂

  2. I am running Jaunty Jackalope, and unfortunately the New Volume Control Applet (http://grumpymole.blogspot.com/2009/01/untitled.html) is sufficiently different that I can’t follow the advice published here. For instance steps 3 and 4 say: Change the Digital Input Source to Analog Inputs, then Select Front Mic as Input Source. Using the New Volume Control Applet, there is no option of changing the digital input source to analog inputs. And I am presented with no option of a “Front Mic” to select as Input Source, even though my 1420 has a built-in mic.😦

    • I am still running Intrepid Ibex. The latest LTS (Long term support, CMIIW) version of Ubuntu is Hardy Heron. I had to do numerous workarounds after the upgrade, so I am now reluctant to upgrade the OS until the next stable LTS is released.
      I’m sorry I can’t help much with your problem, have you tried posting it on the Ubuntu Forum?
      Good luck and thanks for reading.

  1. Pingback: HOWTO: Enabling the external analog mic for Dell Inspiron 1720 in Ubuntu 9.04 for Skype « Wilsonconnect’s Weblog

Leave a Reply

