Install Ubuntu on Dell Inspiron 1420 Part I – Live CD

My academic semester have just finished, finally I have time to do what I’ve been wanting to do, install Linux on my laptop. That other OS has shown its unstableness once again, slowing down heavily after each semester. Before I begin, here are my specs:

Intel Core2Duo T7300 (2.0 GHz, 4MB Cache, 800MHzFSB)
2GB DDR2-SDRAM
120GB SATA
Intel Wireless 3945ABG
Intel X3100 Integrated Graphics
Japanese Keyboard, Webcam, DVD-RW

If we were to install the Standard Ubuntu, we should expect to install the drivers one by one. Which is time-spending, exhausting, and one of the reasons why Linux isn’t popular for notebooks yet. So, we should use the “Dell-remastered” Ubuntu version. They can be found here. This is the 7.10 version, which has many bug fixes from the previous 7.04. It’s all in DVD, ~4,3GB! But I assure you it’s worth downloading and burning it, it saves your precious time. Choose the right platform and video card.

After burning the DVD, boot it by pressing F12 at the BIOS Screen, then choose the CD Drive.
The Live CD will boot, and it takes some time. During this mode, the ethernet works. I also have backed up all of my data, so I didn’t have to worry on using the guided partition format.

After the installation finishes, choose to reboot, and don’t boot into the DVD again.


Posted on July 28, 2008, in Dell Inspiron 1420, Linux and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

